In Washington State, possession of a small amount of methamphetamine is a class C felony and is punishable by up to 5 years in jail and/or up to a $10,000 fine.
If the amount of meth that is possessed is anything other than a small amount, the State is likely to charge possession with intent to deliver, which is a B Felony and punishable by up to 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine. Other facts which make the likelihood of being charged with intent to deliver include if there is possession of large amounts of cash, scales, packaging materials or other indications that the possession was for the purpose of selling, not just personal use.
These are the maximum penalties these charges can carry, but in practice, a judge is bound by a range of jail time that they are allowed to sentence a defendant to in each case. This range is calculated using the Sentencing Reform Act Guidelines, and provides a complicated formula which contemplates the seriousness level of a crime with the defendant’s criminal history. There are often “enhancements” that prosecutor’s add to this sentencing range to make the exposure even greater. These include deadly weapon and firearm enhancements. It is very important to consult with a competent attorney when facing a Washington State felony charge to determine your sentencing range.
CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION 24 HOURS A DAY
SEATTLE CRIMINAL DEFENSE
DEDICATED TO WASHINGTON STATE CRIMINAL DEFENSE